Waterworks Aquatics Irvine: Instructor Anthony

Waterworks Aquatics Irvine
May 27, 2014
Instructor Anthony Interview
______________

Waterworks_Aquatics_Irvine_InstructorAnthony1

C: Thank you for agreeing to meet with me, Anthony.

A: You’re welcome!

C: When did you originally start swimming?

A: I started swimming when I was pretty young. I think I might have been five-years-old when I first started taking swimming lessons.

C: Were you learning the strokes or were you doggie-paddling.

A: I was probably doggie-paddling more than anything to be honest.

C: Oh don’t worry, so was I. Did you ever swim competitively?

A: Because of a knee injury, I was never swam competitively, but I have never had an issue swimming.

C: Wow! Sorry to hear about your knee. Did you have a favorite stroke?

A: I liked freestyle, but not butterfly. That stroke is really difficult and requires a lot of energy.

C: I can only imagine. Do you teach our younger swimmers or older swimmers?

A: I actually teach both, from about 2 years of age to 13.

C: Do you have any advice for some of our younger swimmers that are scared to get into the water?

A: Yeah, definitely! I would tell them just to think of the pool as a HUGE bathtub because it really IS a huge bathtub. I’d ask them if they take baths, then to just imagine that they are taking a bath in the pool. I know it sounds silly, but it’s true.

C: That’s not silly, that’s genius. Do you have any hobbies outside of the water?

A: Well, I love to surf and that’s in the water, but outside of the water I like to play baseball and go snowboarding.

C: Nice, you like to stay active. What about videogames? Do you like videogames?

A: I do, but I don’t get a chance to play them that often. I like Call-of Duty.

C: What about your favorite food?

A: Carne Asada!

C: Yum! Your favorite Disney movie?

A: I love Tangled. Sometimes I watch my nieces and that is their favorite movie to watch with me.

C: That’s great! You must be great with children. Well, thank you so much for your time.

A: No problem!

.

Leave a Reply

